Club Notes‎ > ‎

Club Notes 28th May 2017

posted Jul 11, 2017, 11:11 AM by Aine Martin

Minor League Final

St. Brigid's 2-8, Clann na nGael 0-12. 

Saturday last saw the minor team claim the league title for 2017 after a hard fought win over Clann na nGael in Ballyforan. With the aid of the strong breeze in the first half Brigid's set about getting the most value out of it, but were hampered by a number of wides over the opening half hour. However, Brian Derwin converted a penalty after Paul McGrath had been fouled and he added a second goal which left the half time score at 2-3 to 0-5 in favour of Brigid's. The second half saw Clann draw level at one point, but Brigid's rallied and with two Donnacha Gately frees, they stretched out their lead again, which they held until the final whistle, winning on a score. 

 Afterwards, captain Brian Derwin accepted the trophy on behalf of the team. Well done to all involved. It was a great win and they now take a deserved break as the focus for many of the players turns to their studies. We wish all  doing their leaving and junior cert exams all the very best over the coming few weeks. 

Seamus Smith, Keelan O Conner, Eoin Minagh, Gary Daly, Pearce Frost, Cian McBrearty, Paul McGrath (0-1), Billy McDonald, Shane Cunnane, Ian O' Rourke, Donnacha Gately (0-4), Ruairí Smith, Tom O Carroll, Ciarán Sugrue (0-1), Brian Derwin (2-3).
Subs: Niall Murray, Tommy Glynn, Robbie Dolan, John Leonard, Daniel Sugrue, Mark Haran, Ronan Campbell, Eoin Egan, Cian Daly, Ciaran Quinn, Eoin Derwin, Darragh Murray."






Last Week’s Results

Numbers Drawn 1 / 9 / 29 32







Mary Duignan, Clonellan, Ballydangan

Jimmy & Della Kenny, Battery Rd., Athlone

Michael Hughes, Curramore, Kiltoom



Draw takes place on Monday night 05/06/2017

in St Brigid’s Sports & Social Centre at 10.00pm