Minor Notes June 22nd 2014

posted Jun 23, 2014, 4:07 AM by Richard Canny
Carrick NS, Curraghboy - Two-teacher School County Champions 2014.
Ballybay Central - Large School County Champions 2014.

Cumann na mBunscoil: Pride of place this week goes to Carrick NS, Curraghboy and Ballybay Central NS who won their respective schools finals against Tibohine NS and St Josephs NS Boyle respectively . It was particularly special for Curraghboy NS team who made history by winning a first ever county title for the school. This was also the school's first appearance in a county final for 16 years. Their opponents Tibohine put up a brave effort throughout in this two teacher 7-a-side Two Teacher final but Curraghboy’s superior firepower ensured they finished comprehensive winners in the end. Curraghboy NS squad: Luke Powell, Aaron Dolan, Adam Samuels, Diarmuid Glynn-McLoughlin, Ruaidhrí Fallon, Cormac Canny, Bobby Nugent, Michael and Daniel Butler (joint captains), Áine Downey, Niamh Kenny, Sarah Reid, Oisín McCauley, Fionn McDonnell, Leah Nestor-Kane. In the Large Schools Final against Boyle, Ballybay dominated from the word go and ran out easy winners to retain their county title which they captured last year after a four year absence. (See match reports elsewhere). Ballybay NS squad: Evan Gallagher, Faoláin Kennedy, Liam Egan, Luke Griselain, Jack Martin, Shane Keenan, Ciarán Quinn, Ben O’Carroll, Robbie Dolan (captain), Shane Kelly, Adam Lennon, Karl Colgan, Ben Costello, Leo Fennell, Adam Flanagan, Cian Lawless, Eoin McGrath, Luke Martin, Robert Muldoon, Gavin Daly, Rhys Mannion, Brian Monaghan, Luke Murphy, Brian Nestor, Luke O’Rourke, Ultan O’Rourke. A special thanks to Curraghboy NS principal, Ollie Connaughton; Ballybay teachers Sandra Kelly and Tina O’Hara, and Kieran Kilkenny for all their work in ensuring this fabulous week for both schools.

U-16s:  The U-16s’ Division 1 first round championship game against Roscommon Gaels scheduled for last Sunday afternoon in Kiltoom will take place tonight, Monday, June 23rd.

U-14s: The U-14s registered their second win on the trot in the Division 1 and 4 championships respectively. The Division 1 team overcame Roscommon Gaels in Kiltoom on Thursday last by 3-18 to 2-4 Roscommon Gaels while the Division 4 team defeated visitors St Croans on a scoreline of 4-13 to 3-8.

 U-12s: Well done to the U-12s who took the honours in the Easyfix ‘A’ Final with a narrow aggregate victory over host club St Gabriel’s in Kilconnell on Saturday last. The U-11 team pulled it out of the fire to ensure that St Brigid’s prevailed by a 3 point winning aggregate score. The U-12s had clinched a final spot on the Thursday before with a one point aggregate win over Tuam in Kiltoom. The club extends its thanks to St Gabriel’s for its kind hospitality on Saturday. U-12 Easyfix squad: Martin O’Grady, Oisin Canny, Micheal Sugrue, Adam Donovan, Shane Finnerty, Thomas O’Brien, Adam Lennon, Adam Samuels, Shane Keenan, Ruairdhi Fallon (joint captain), James Goose  (joint captain), Ben O’Carroll, Luke O’Rourke, James Rourke, Sean Trundle, Brian Nestor, Ronan Doyle, Conor Hand, Kevin Derwin, Harry Griselain, Ben Moran, Brian Monaghan, Jack Ryan, Shane Daly, Daniel Keenan, Liam Hennelly, Ultan O’Rourke, Jamie Curley.

U-10s: The U10s took part in a Go Games Blitz hosted by Clann na nGael on Saturday last. The blitz also featured teams from the host club, Roscommon Gaels, St Dominic's and St Ciaran's.